Peterculter Golf Club
3.7 miles from Maryculter House
Peterculter Golf Club is the Gateway to Golf on Royal Deeside. A spectacular 18-hole golf course that follows the natural contours of the River Dee with stunning views of the Grampian Mountains.
A small group of determined souls came together in the 1980’s with a vision to build a top quality golf course on the banks of the glorious River Dee.
The community got behind the proposal and the dream became reality when Peterculter Golf Club came into play in 1991. Creating a variety of different types of holes all benefiting from the magnificent setting and views up and down the River Dee.
A warm welcome awaits you in the friendly and comfortable Clubhouse.
Aboyne Golf course
23 miles from Maryculter House
The oldest course on Royal Deeside. 6,000 yards of impeccable fairways and faultless greens – a golfer’s haven. Aboyne is the understated jewel in the Aberdeenshire golfing crown.
Honoured to be chosen by the R&A to host the ‘Coronation Foursomes’ Area Finals in August 2018.
Host venue Scottish Golf North-East District Men’s Open August 2018: a World Amateur Ranking Qualifying Event.
Situated only 70 miles from St Andrews, we are under an hour from Aberdeen International Airport. This immaculately maintained course presents one of the most memorable tests of inland golf in Scotland. Come and play our unique topography and enjoy one of the most varied and respected courses in the Home of Golf.
Host of Scottish Golf Junior Open Regional Qualifier 2017. Proud host of 2016 Scottish Women’s County Finals.
Banchory Golf course
11 miles from Maryculter House
Banchory is set in the heart of Royal Deeside yet only 20 minutes from Aberdeen and is the ideal venue for a Corporate Day or Society outing where we can offer a top quality days golf on our course coupled with first class cuisine and hospitality. We have a small board room (max 15 persons) located in the upstairs clubhouse which can be used for meetings before or after golf if required. Please feel free to contact us if you wish to reserve this facility.If you have non golfers in your party we do have a full size snooker table where a few frames can be played while waiting for the golfers to come home.We pride ourselves on our attention to detail, friendly staff and personal service and will ensure your golf day goes without a hitch.
Ballater Golf course
34 miles from Maryculter House
Ballater Golf Club was founded in 1892, originally as a nine hole course, on land owned by the laird of Invercauld. When farmland became available in 1905, the course was expanded to eighteen holes.
A match was staged in August 1906, between two very well known golfers, James Braid and Harry Vardon, to celebrate the construction of a pavilion and the extension of the course.
This eighteen hole, medium length golf course is situated in one of the most beautiful parts of Upper Deeside.
Several holes lie close to the River Dee and many a ball has gone to a watery grave. Ballater and its golf course lie within a circle of hills with glorious views, a delightful golfing experience.
The course can best be described as heathland, although farther away from the river there are some distinct parkland characteristics.
There are also a good number of undulations formed by river terraces running along the ancient flood plain and these help make it interesting to play.
Ballater offers its toughest test to par on its opening six holes, which include two difficult par threes. However, with the beautiful scenery, dominated by Lochnagar to the west, and the fresh Highland air, few can fail to enjoy this lovely course.
Stonehaven Golf course
10 miles from Maryculter House
Stonehaven Golf Club was founded in April 1888, the first club house was opened in June 1889. The original chimney stack still stands by the 7th tee. At that time the course only had 10 holes, it was not until July 1897 that the ‘new course’ and the club house, on the current site was opened.
For a short time the club professional was George Duncan, who later won the Open Championship in 1920 and played 3 times in the Ryder cup team, being the winning captain in 1929.
Also to grace the fairways was another 5 times Open champion, was the legendry James Braid, who played a challenge match in 1906 against his nephew and twice Open championship and runner up, Archie Simpson, the professional at Royal Aberdeen. Afterwards Braid and Simpson planned improvements to the course.
A much less welcomed visitor called in August 1940, when a German aircraft fleeing home after a raid, dropped a bomb on the course only a hundred yards or so from the club house. The crater it left, known as Hilter’s Bunker, remains clearly visible today and very much in play between the first and second fairways.
Deeside Golf course
4 miles from Maryculter House
Members can justifiably be proud of their magnificent new clubhouse which was completed in December 2004. Members, guests and visitors can relax in comfort and enjoy the surroundings which are complimented by the stunning views over the 18th green and the valleys of Royal Deeside.
Enjoy a relaxing and comfortable atmosphere in our restaurant with superb views overlooking 1st and 18th greens. The Blairs spire along with Ardoe House hotel are magnificent landmarks in the distance.
Our Head Chef Mark Ross has strived to create an excellent menu to suit every taste for every occasion all at reasonable cost which should prove attractive to members, visitors and corporate golfing parties.
Springing from a desire among golfers residing in the lower Deeside area to avoid the inconvenience of travelling several miles to play on the already congested Aberdeen Links course, a public meeting was convened in the school at Cults on November 24, 1902.
That meeting led to the election of a committee to investigate possible sites for a course and four months later, in March 1903, Deeside Golf Club was officially inaugurated under the captaincy of James L. McIntyre, one of four doctors on the 19-man committee.
A nine-hole course was opened formally on September 3, 1903, a clubhouse opening followed a year later, and within a further 12 months, the course was extended to a 5,000-yard 18-hole circuit.
The next significant course development was the purchase of more ground in 1947, and this was followed in 1969 by the addition of 80 acres of land which had been part of West Cults Farm where a new nine-hole course was completed in June, 1984.
The ‘90s were dominated by a radical course redevelopment programme with the twin aim of making better use of the flat and uninteresting ground on which the nine-hole course was situated, and having both the 18 and 9-hole courses starting and finishing in the vicinity of the clubhouse. To these ends, an EGM in 1995 approved a £600,000 scheme to redesign the two courses.
An application of National Lottery funding for the first phase of the operation produced an award of £185,000, conditional on the removal of any distinction between male and female members.
A side-effect of the publicity the lottery award received was a letter from the Lord Lyon King of Arms pointing out that the design of the club crest – which had been in use for years – required his approval before it could be used.
Fortunately, the design needed only slight amendment to qualify for official recognition in the public register of Scottish coats-of arms.
Following extensive discussions and numerous SGM’s it was agreed to build a new clubhouse overlooking the challenging and picturesque 18th hole.
The club’s centenary in 2003 was marked by a number of events, some of them involving representatives from fellow-clubs in the North-east, and the next highlight was the opening – to general complimentary acclaim – of the new clubhouse on 15th December 2004 and was officially opened by HRH Prince Andrew on 15th July 2005.
The new Driving Range was opened on 3rd April 2009. The building has been finished to a high standard throughout with sympathetic detail in mind thus blending in with the new Clubhouse.
The Driving Range building features eight bays in total, two of which are teaching bays situated at either end of the range building. The completion of this building provides a first-class practice facility.
At the AGM in February 2009 it was agreed that the proceeds of the land sale would be used to pay off the bank loan on the new clubhouse and install a new irrigation system, which required to be replaced after 30 year. The new system was completed in December 2009.
Paul Lawrie Golf Centre
4 miles from Maryculter House
Set within the beautiful Royal Deeside the Paul Lawrie Golf Centre caters for the needs of all golfers. Boasting a nine hole par three golf course, a 27 bay driving range and a world class short game area, the Centre also has three PGA Coaching Professionals on hand to provide instruction in fully equipped private coaching bays.
The Paul Lawrie Golf Centre experience is further enhanced by the bespoke custom fitting bay, well equipped shop and friendly coffee shop with views over the golf course and beyond.
Portlethen Golf course
The course is maturing into one of the more popular parkland courses in the North East of Scotland having been blessed with natural features, the principal being the Findon burn which, lined with mature broadleaf trees, crosses five of the holes on the first nine influencing either tee or approach shots.
The par 5 460 yard fourth hole poses a problem of choice of second shots as the burn crosses 90 yards short of the green, the wayward shot punished by ending up in the burn or in the trees. The inward 9 holes carry fewer hazards but the Findon burn continues to create problems at the fifteenth and eighteenth. Arguably the fifteenth is the ‘signature hole’ of the course. First, the tee shot has to be accurate to cope with the right to left dog leg and then the approach shot, from a down hill lie, has to carry the Findon burn which, moat like, guards the entrance to the green.
The par 502 yd par 5 eighteenth is a challenging closing hole featuring a drystone dyke on the left running all the way from tee to green with the risk of out of bounds with every shot. The Findon burn, 100 yards short of the green creates a further dilemma of second shot selection; to carry or not to carry. Senior golfers and visitors normally play the shorter par 70 ‘Yellow Tee’ course.
Course development has seen the planting of around 21.000 carefully selected trees, restoration of drystone dyke, construction of stone bridges, new tees at several holes and a pond at the short fifth.
There is an extensive practice area including a 4 bay driving range and short game facility. A substantial putting green is conveniently sited near the first tee.
Please take advantage of these amazing offers with the tickets below